Agra City Tourism Agra City
Taj Mahal Tourism Taj Mahal
Agra Location Location
Agra Map Guide Map
Agra Climate Weather Climate
Agra Shopping Shopping
Agra Festivals Festivals
Agra People People & Lifestyle
Around Agra Next to Agra
Agra Taxi Hire Taxi Hire
Agra history City History
Colonial Agra Colonial Agra
Agra City Architecture City Architecture
Agra City Old Agra City
Mughal Garden Mughal Gardens
Agra fort Agra Fort
Sikandra Sikandra
Mehtab Bagh Mehtab Bagh
Ram Bagh Ram Bagh
Jama Masjid Jama Masjid
Shilpgram Shilpgram
Taj Mahotsav Taj Mahotsav
Agra to Bharatpur Taxi To Bharatpur
Agra to Varanasi Taxi To Varanasi
Agra to Pushmar Taxi To Pushkar
Agra to Vrindavan Taxi To Vrindavan
Agra to Orchha Taxi To Orchha
Agra to Shivpuri Taxi To Shivpuri
Agra to Allahabad Taxi To Allahabad
Agra Tour packages Taj Mahal Tour (02 Days)
Agra Tour Package Agra City Tour (03 Days)
Delhi Agra Tour Delhi Agra Tour (03 Days)
Agra Mathura Tour Agra Mathura Tour (03 Days)
Agra Wildlife Tour Agra Wildlife Tour (04 Days)
Agra Pushkar Tour Agra Pushkar Tour (04 Days)
Agra Gwalior Tour Agra Gwalior Tour (04 Days)
Golden Triangle Tour Golden Triangle Tour (06 Days)
Agra Bharatpur Tour Agra Bharatpur Tour (05 Days)
Agra Khajuraho Varanasi Tour Agra Khajuraho Varanasi(6 Days)
Agra Ranthambore Tour Agra Ranthambore Jaipur(06 Day)
Agra Tours Taj Temple Tiger (06 Days)
Agra Udaipur Tour Agra Jaipur Udaipur (06 Days)
Jaipur Agra Varanasi tour Jaipur Agra Varanasi (07 Days)
Varanasi Tour Varanasi Sarnath Tour (03 Days)
Ajanta Ellora Tour Ajanta Ellora Tour (03 Days)
Goa Tour Package Goa Tour Package (03 Days)
Kerala Tour Package Kerala Tour Package (04 Days)
Tiger Safari Tour Tiger Safari Tour (07 Days)
Rajasthan Tour Package Rajasthan Tour (08 Days)
Agra Budget Hotels Budget Hotels
Agra Standard Hotels Standard Hotels
Agra Deluxe Hotels Deluxe Hotels
Agra Luxury Hotels Luxury Hotels
Varanasi Tourism Varanasi
Gwalior Tourism Gwalior
Orchha Tourism Orchha
Lucknow Tourism Lucknow

Agra Timeline

Agra tourism Read Agra timeline and history information. It is a historical city and is witness of many historical incidents and phases of city development. Being longtime capital of Mughal dynasty, lot of changes, developments and incidents took place during their rule. Various Mughal emperors ruled of India, from Agra and thus city is witness of different rulings, monuments developments, political developments, kingdom management systems, wars, society developments, change in architecture of city, shifting of capitals, political conspiracies, natural calamities etc. Here in given below timeline, we have tried to point-out such prominent periods, incidents in chronological order. Please go through them.

Period Description
Pre Mahabharat Time It was know by the name of Arya-griha, name given by Aryans.
Mahabharata Period It is called Agra-vana due to forested region.
11th Century Traveller Ptolemy visited Agra and described the city.
1475 Formely city founded by Raja Badal Singh. Laid foundation of Badalgarh fort which was later known by the name of Agra Fort.
1489 - 1517 Reign of Sikander Lodhi, sultan of Delhi.
1517 - 1526 Rule of Ibrahim Lodhi
1526 First battle of Panipat took place. In this period Babur stayed in Agra Fort.
1526 - 1530 Mughal rule established by Babur.
1530 Humayun was crowned in Agra Fort.
1530 - 1540 Rule of Mughal emperor Humayun. He was crowned at Jami Masjid in Agra. In this period, mosque was built at Kachhpura, across the Yamuna river, from the fort.
1540 Humayun was defeated by Sher shah and Suri dynasty rule begins from Agra fort.
1540 - 1555 Suri rulers ruled from Agra fort.
1555 - 1556 Humayun defeated Islam Shah and regained control over Agra. Humayun ruled from Agra fort.
1556 - 1605 Mughal emperor Akbar's ruling period. Fatehpur Sikri developed during this period and Agra renamed as Akbarabad.
1558 Akbar shifted his capital from Delhi to Agra.
1573 Fatehpur Sikri came into existence, after completion of construction work.
1573 Re-construction of Agra fort completed and renamed from Badalgarh to Red fort of Agra.
1605 - 1627 Ruling period of emperor Jahangir.
1627-1628 Shahryar Mirja, short-term rule. Later killed by younger brother Shah Jahan.
1628 - 1658 Rule of Shah-jahan. Taj Mahal came into existence, in his ruling period.
17-June-1631 Mumtaz Mahal died in Burhanpur district of Madhya Pradesh state in Central India.
1632-1653 Period of Taj Mahal construction, from beginning to completion.
1658 - 1707 Rule of Mughal emperor Aurangzeb, over Agra.
22 Jan 1666 Shah Jahan died in Agra Fort, at the age of 74.
1707-1707 Rule of Azam Shah who was assassinated by Bahadur Shah-I.
1707 - 1712 Rule of Bahadur Shah-1.
1712-1713 Rule of Jahandar Shah.
1713-1719 Rule of Farrukhsiyar.
1719 - 1719 Rule of Rafi-ul-darjat
1719 - 1719 Rule of Shah Jahan-II
1719 - 1748 Rule of Muhammed Shah
1748 - 1754 Rule of Ahmed Shah Bahadur
1754 - 1759 Rule of Alamgir-II
1759 - 1760 Rule of Shah Jahan - III
1760 - 1806 Rule of Shah Alam-II, in exile.
1758 Maratha forces seize power in Delhi and appointed their governor at Agra.
1764 Maharaja Surajmal of Bharatpur, took control over Agra.
1770 Maratha took back Agra.
1803 Agra came under British Rule, after defeat of Scindia.
1805 Agra Cantonment Board was established.
14 Nov 1834 Agra Presidency established
01 June 1836 Agra Presidency ceased to exist.
1837 - 1838 Agra faced severe famine situation.
1902 - 1950 Agra remained part of United Province of Agra & Oudh.
26 January 1950 Agra become part of Uttar Pradesh state.
1983 Taj Mahal and Agra Fort were declared UNESCO World Heritage Site.
1986 Fatehpur Sikri was declared as UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Quotation Request Form
TRAVELLER'S COMPOSITION*: Adults:    Children (Below 05Yrs):
TRAVEL DATES (dd/mm/yyyy)*: Check-in:   Check-out:
ROOMS*: Single:    Double:    Triple:
MORE DETAILS: like arrival/departure timing, number of person, vehicle type, children age, tour plan etc.
Enter same code *  
Site Designed & Copyright © Agra Tourism - All rights reserved